Ilastik best file format for pixel classification

Hi folks,
I’ve large tiff formats from stitched SEM images that I want to evaluate coherently. Now, after multiple segmentation attempts in FIJI, I came across Ilastik here on the forum. I think that Ilastik can solve my segmentation problems in a more precise way. However, my individual tiff formats are about 25 megabytes each. So I followed the Ilastik manuals and created an .h5 file for each image and open them with ilastik in a new project. While I’m training with my .h5 files (6-10 files, each about 45 mb) the program runs slowly or crashes partially. I am a beginner in image editing and wonder if compressed tiff formats could distort the results in the end?

Hi @hofmanpa,

I assume your data is 2D? What is roughly the size in pixels along each dimension?

You also inquire about compressed tiffs and whether those distort the analysis. Tiffs can be compressed using different methods (something like gzip, lzw, jpeg…). This depends. If compression is lossless (-> all data can be recovered) then there is no problem at all. Lossy compression, on the other hand, should in general never be used when you’re planning to analyse the data.

The hdf5 that you (I assume) generated with the ilastik import/export Plugin for Fiji saves data completely uncompressed per default (compression level=0). The compression algorithm we use is gzip, so it’s lossless compression.

Cheers
Dominik

@k-dominik yes, it’s a 2D data set. Every image has a size with 6868 x6868 pixels. As you mentioned I used the export/import plugin in fiji to generate hdf5 files. I was just wondering about the huge size of 45 mb for each image.
exportfile_ilastik_fiji

@k-dominik would you recommend to preprocess images with different background noise in fiji before training the pixel classifier in ilastik?
Some examples:

thanks for your help!

Hi @hofmanpa,

thank you for providing some data. I had a look.