Ij1: Applying a function to an element in an array (in a loop)

So, first of all I’m a very beginner in this so I don’t know if what I am trying to do makes any sense at all but here it goes:

dir is an array consisting of the names of the subfolders in my main directory.
I am trying to create a function (ListImages) which loops through all files in each subfolder (one by one), to find an image with a specific name (FileName) (should be only one per folder), which will be later further analysed (processImage function) - other images should be just ignored.
So I guess I need a nested loop for the ListImages function, but it doesn’t seem to work.

Upon further inspection, I realised that I can’t seem to get getFileList to work for individual elements of an array at all, e.g. files = getFileList(dir[0]); followed by Array.print(files) doesn’t give me anything, so I guess me entire strategy is wrong.

Is there any other way to loop through elements of an array? Or am I missing something bigger than here?

function ListImages(dir[m]) {
	for (m=0; m< dir.length; m++) { 
		AllFiles = getFileList(dir[m]);
	for (i = 0; i < AllFiles.length; i++) {
		if (startsWith(FileName)) {
			processImage(FileName);
			}
		}
	}
}

@Isq

If I were you - I would use the available templates for processing files in folders/subfolders. Open the script editor, select Templates :arrow_forward: ImageJ 1.x :arrow_forward: Batch :arrow_forward: Process Folder (IJ1 Macro) . Here is the code:

/*
 * Macro template to process multiple images in a folder
 */

#@ File (label = "Input directory", style = "directory") input
#@ File (label = "Output directory", style = "directory") output
#@ String (label = "File suffix", value = ".tif") suffix

// See also Process_Folder.py for a version of this code
// in the Python scripting language.

processFolder(input);

// function to scan folders/subfolders/files to find files with correct suffix
function processFolder(input) {
	list = getFileList(input);