IHC quantification CD68 stained surface area

Hello all,

Beginner here! I am trying to quantify the area stained by CD68 in my slides. CD68 will stain macrophages and foreign body giant cells (FBGCs) which are going crazy trying to surround my constructs (white circles in the picutre, they disolve during paraffin embedding). My construct is around 100 µm thick and sometimes it is completely surrounded by FBGCs to the extent that it is not possible to know if it just one giant cell or several. Staining is with NovaRED and not DAB.

I have tried Fiji (manual color deconvolution, then thresholding and measuring the surface area), I also tried the WETA segmentation tool. But I was wondering if there is a way to do it with QuPath in an automated way.

Can you help me? I am still going to take the images, so I can also do tiles, that’s why I am very interested in QuPath.

Kindly find attached some images in Google Drive of several time points. Thank you.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1VoisaECij8DpsOO-aChl1yOrOHWoq4DP?usp=sharing

That doesn’t look too bad, though you have many different ways of characerizing the differences, so I am not really sure what you are looking for. Here are some options.

Cell counting (my settings were not great, but I didn’t have your actual pixel size so ended up being very fudgy).

Positive pixel count

SLICs for percent area, or area measurements (colored by intensity DAB).

Any of those could be automated fairly easily provided the images came with pixel size metadata, and some of them could be done with greater difficulty even without pixel sizes.

Hello Mike,

Thank you very much for your reply. Sorry that I forgot to include the scale. It is 0.086 µm/pixel.

The problem with positive cell counting is that I get a huge variation in size of cells from single macrophages to FBGCs with tens of nuclei, besides the problem of the overlap of cells together. So I believe the positive stained area is the best thing in my case.