Identify Primary Object Issue in Adipose Tissue

Hello,

I am new to CellProfiler and have recently started trying to measure adipocyte area in some H&E stained tissues. I have created a pipeline that runs successfully up until the Identify Primary Object part where it should be highlighting each adipocyte. I have attached one of my images here and my current pipeline. I would really appreciate any advice or help!

Thank you :slight_smile: 3-1 sq.tif (19.2 MB) Untitled1.cpproj (644.3 KB)

Hi Carly,

It will be easiest to help you if you describe what you think is going well and what you think is NOT, perhaps with some screenshots, so that we have a better idea of what aspects of your analysis need to be optimized! Thanks so much.

Hi Beth,

Thanks for your response!

My goal is to obtain the area for each cell, so I created the pipeline from an image of an H&E stained adipose tissue section to change the image to black and white, correct the illumination then invert the section to better highlight the adipocytes and smooth to decrease the graininess of the image (screenshot 1). After this, I thought that individual adipocytes would be highlighted using identify primary objects but unfortunately I it just comes up with a black screen (screenshot 2).

I’ve also tried another pipeline (attached here)

Pipeline for adipose size.cpproj (646.4 KB) made by a colleague that has been used successfully to calculate the area of adipocytes from her images, but it doesn’t work on mine either.

Please let me know if you have some advice on how to fix this issue!

You may want to check out the thread linked below (and other responses in it) - the tissue type is different, but the images and proposed tweaks are very similar!

Hi Beth,