Idendifying substructures of actin cytoskeleton

cellprofiler

Hey there,
my name is Matthias Truttmann.I am a PhD student in the Dehio group at the Biozentrum, Basel (Switzerland). Currently, I am setting up a high-troughput screen using primary cells (or Hela) to study host-patogen interactions. I am using CP since half a year and the program works in general great!
However, I have encountered a problem while establishing a pipeline suitable for analysation of results comming from a small test screen.

My target structures I’d like to have idendified (invasomes) appear in different shapes and different sizes. They can look like a bowle / circle or appear ring-like. Unfortunately, there is no way to stain them specifically as they represent just special actin rearrangements.

If appling a Threshold, I get up to 90% correct idendifications for a test image set. However, running the pipeline on a real image set, I get a false positive rate of more than 100% due to the fact that huge compartiments of the “normal” Actin skeleton pass the threshold filter and finally look kind of similar in shape and size to my target structure - at least for CP. I posted a few example images under the links below. images A02 contain the target structure, while all other images do not.
Using primary cells, the false positive rate is even higher! Thus, my pipeline does not work satisfying yet. (The pipeline is also posted as .txt file)

How would you try to idendify and count this ring-like structures?