Icy ROI excel export – why do I get decimal pixel coordinates?

Hi all!

I’m new to image data processing and especially to Icy. I was wondering why is it that, even though the ROIs on the ROI tab appear as having integer pixel coordinates, when I try to export them to excel I obtain positions that have decimal precision. I’m working with polygon contour ROIs (from the Active Contours plugin).

Because I’ll be studying the trajectory of each ROI (which represents a nucleus) on a different platform, it’s important that I understand how the center coordinates (Center X and Center Y) of each ROI are calculated.

Thank you advance for your help! I couldn’t find the answer to this question anywhere.

Dear MTParreira,

I tried to reproduce what you did but I don’t see a change between the values in the ROI tab and the Excel file. Could you compare what I did below to what you did and give some precisions?

1. I opened this test image in Icy, which contains some demo ROIs (put the .xml file in the same folder as the .tif file and drag and drop the .tif file in Icy): test_stack.tif (7.5 MB) test_stack.xml (3.4 KB)

2. I looked at the ROI tab

3. I exported the measurements as .xls file and compared the values with the ones in the ROI tab. I see integers for Position X, Y, Z and double, with the same decimal precision in the ROI tab and in the .xls file, for Center X, Y, Z.

Center X, Y, Z are the coordinates of the center of mass of the ROI, so I expect to have double. And according to the ROI Statistics documentation, Position X, Y, Z is the position of the upper left corner of the bounding box around the ROI.

Out of curiosity, which platform do you use to study the trajectories?

Best regards,
Marion

Hi Marion!
Thank you for your answer. I tested the files you sent and indeed ROI’s position don’t have decimal precision. However, when running the Active Contours plugin I get positions with decimal precision: