Icy ec-CLEM: image size and forma requirements and workstation config

Hi!

I am a new Icy user who is particularly interested in the ec-CLEM/ec-CLEM Autofinder plug in. I have been using the ec-CLEM for a few months and had some inspiring successes.

I observed multiple instances where ec-CLEM falls into "eternal transformation finding” - its neither finding a pretty straight forward transformation (low magnification grid map in EM vs. that in FM) nor reporting "transformation not found” after some time, but running endlessly. Only program restart with images reload helps. This fall into "eternal transformation finding” could happen a few times in a raw. When reloaded, same areas are usually chosen for correlative points selection and in one of the reloads the correlation works. Is there any suggestion on plugin tweaking for such instances?

Running the ec-CLEM plugin I noticed that the size of images I am trying to correlate matters a lot. In addition, it seems that the performance also depends on the file format - e.g. in a comparison when used .mrc vs. tiff, where the .tiff is produces from the .mrc). Could you advise what would be the best file format to use with the ec-CLEM and what is the file size limitation I should not overcome?

It occurred to me to run the ec-CLEM with a very similar input data on a few different computers. I could not help but notice that the performance differs from one computer to another. All of them are quite powerful iMacs and a PC workstation. As we are currently planning to purchase a new image processing workstation we were wondering if you could give us an advice what hardware parameters are crucial for Icy and ec-CLEM plugin in particular. Do you have any suggestions on configuration?

Thank you,

Sergii

Dear Sergii,

I am inviting @PerrineGilloteaux, the developer of ec-CLEM, to join this thread. I am also inviting @Stephane, regarding questions related to file formats and performances with Icy.