I need help with setting an appropriate threshold in my image

Hi Guys,
I am new to imagej.
I took several images from grey particles covering a green surface.
I d like to compare those images for particle coverage.

The images were taken with suboptimal lighting conditions.
That means the brightness is not equal in the image.
This appears to hinder my analysis to some degree: very subtle particle coverage issues are not detectable.

I want to give an example:
Here is one image with some coverage of grey particles.

Two things stand out here:

1. At the bottom left area, the green surface is visible through the particles (green indication). The remaining area seems covered.
  2. The left side is brighter than the right side of the image. the middle seems to be reddish.

When I use a threshold on the 8 bit Version I get the following binary result.

The bottom left area (yellow indication) is detected as “not perfectly covered” but also -unwantedly- the right area of the image (yellow indication).

Is there anyone out there who might know what to do to obtain a threshold which is sensible to the green surface and not so much to the overall brightness of the image after conversion to 8-bit.

The raw data is a png.
I tried using 8-32 bit, Lab and HSB stack types with the same issue.
I tried the 3D color inspector but couldn’t find any useful depth/rotation setting.

Any help apprechiated.

Regards

Hi @symbolinsight,

I’m not sure if the green region you see at the bottom left is actually there, or if it’s an illumination artifact (similar to the pink-ish region towards the center of the image).

If you’ve taken several images with the same illumination, it would be easy to assess.

You can try to correct for uneven illumination with some basic flat field corrrection. The closer your illumination estimate to the actual flat field (which you can take during the imaging session in a region with no sample), the better the results.