How to promote scripting over macros

fiji
imagej
macro
scripting

…commenting on ctrueden’s rant:

This is completely true - and similar to what Robert earlier commented. …Here’s some thoughts on what might be barriers to that happening IMHO. …strictly personal thoughts/opinions.

I’m a programmer - have been professionally for 25 years. …But (even!) I’m writing stuff using the macro language.

It is completely overstretching what should be done with it (2000 line macro’s!)

This is Bad. It’s bad for me (honestly the limitations/bugs/issues with the macro language are frustrating as hell), it’s bad for the apps I’m writing and anyone later trying to maintain this.

But I’m writing it in the macro language mainly because when coming into IJ as a newbie it seemed to have the best (only?) reasonable documentation/examples etc. I didn’t even realise for a month or two that I could write things in javascript or python.

If I’d know that from the start, and those interfaces had half decent documentation/examples etc I would have done that. For me now it’s too late.

So my thoughts on this is having some better/good documentation and visibility around the alternatives to writing in the macro language would go a long, long, long way to helping nudge people in that direction at the start, rather than using the macro language. I think that would do wonders then for really helping out the IJ community in general.

…and pick one language to be the default, not the current smorgasbord of so many. I think that is too hard to maintain, support and do a good job of, simply due to the dilution of resources.

6 Likes

Macro call function defined in another file?

Why? Wouldn’t it actually be easier to migrate to other languages now (for new scripts), since you know the APIs and paradigm better than when you started?