How to measure distance between two points?

Hello!

I am new to using FIJI, so if the answer to this question is extremely obvious I am very sorry. For a project I am doing, I have to measure to length of a wavy line. I am using the ‘segmented line’ command to help get a smooth curve. I understand how to get the length of this curvy line as well by using the ‘measure’ command.

However, I also need the length from one end of the line to the other. Is it possible to do this without having to draw a straight line through the curve?

I could also use the x and y coordinates for both ends of the curved line; I used the ‘list’ command to display coordinates, but that is just for the one side. Is it possible to receive the other x and y coordinates?

If it is easier to make a vector, that could also work and may be preferred if I receive the same information as previously mentioned.

Thank you for the help, and please let me know if you can think of anything.

As a quick measurement the Ferets Diameter could give you the smallest and the largest distance between any point in your segment. https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/docs/guide/146-30.html#sub:Set-Measurements
If the ends curl in however this might not work for you.

Here is a discussion about length measurements on points in the image using macros: How to batch measure distances between points

But I do not understand the problem with the extraction of the coordinates. Could you provide an example image with ROIs?

Thank you!

Do you mean how to get the coordinates of the first and last point in a wavy line selection?

Roi.getCoordinates(xpoints, ypoints);
x0=xpoints[0];
y0=ypoints[0];
x1=xpoints[xpoints.length-1];
y1=ypoints[ypoints.length-1];
...pythagorean (x0,y0,x1,y1)..

Thank you very much. This seems like it could work, but where are the values for the points displayed?