How to extract series from unique .czi file

imagej
czi
filereader

Hello everybody,

I am dealing with czi files containing timeseries from different positions of a 96well plate. What I would like to do is to write a script, possibly Jython, to open each series (one series corresponds to one location and the file contains the whole timeseries for tha position) and save it as an independent file in .tiff format.
I am still learning how to use Jython and bioformats on script and I have no idea on how to use the ZeissCZIReader class… is there anybody who can help me?

Thanks!
Lucrezia

Hello,

We wrote a macro do to this a while back. I am attaching it here in the hopes that it will help you.

All the best

Oli

/*
 * CZI EXPORT MACRO
 * By Olivier Burri @ EPFL - SV - PTECH - BIOP
 * Given a folder, extracts all series inside all CZI files in new folders 
 * Last edit: 26.02.2016
 */

dir = getDirectory("Select a directory containing one or several CZI files");

files = getFileList(dir);

print("Export : Starts at " + now() );

setBatchMode(true);
k=0;
n=0;
run("Bio-Formats Macro Extensions");
for(f=0; f<files.length; f++) {
	if(endsWith(files[f], ".czi")) {
		k++;
		id = dir+files[f];
		Ext.setId(id);
		Ext.getSeriesCount(seriesCount);
		print(seriesCount+" series in "+id);
		n+=seriesCount;
		for (i=0; i<seriesCount; i++) {
			run("Bio-Formats Importer", "open=["+id+"] color_mode=Default view=Hyperstack stack_order=XYCZT use_virtual_stack series_"+(i+1));
			//run("Bio-Formats Importer", "open=["++"] color_mode=Default rois_import=[ROI manager] view=Hyperstack stack_order=XYCZT use_virtual_stack series_1");
			fullName	= getTitle();
			dirName 	= substring(fullName, 0,lastIndexOf(fullName, ".czi"));
			fileName 	= substring(fullName, lastIndexOf(fullName, " - ")+3, lengthOf(fullName));
			print(fileName);
			savingDir = dir+File.separator+dirName+File.separator;

File.makeDirectory(savingDir);

print("Saving "+fileName+" under "+savingDir);