How to exclude certain objects in image from ROI measurements?

Hi! I’m new to ImageJ and Fiji, and am having trouble figuring out how to effectively create masks and measure ROIs.

For example, I would like to be able to draw selections on the following image and calculate measurements for each ROI without include information from the white and dark circular objects.

Screen Shot 2021-05-07 at 11.08.33 AM

I’ve used the Trainable Weka Segmentation plugin to classify the objects already-- the region in the original image corresponding to green is what I would like to calculate measurements for.

Screen Shot 2021-05-07 at 11.09.49 AM

From here, what is the best way to create a mask that excludes what we see in purple and red; and take intensity measurements that exclude information from those objects? And is this the best way to complete this task in Image J? I’ve already binarized the classification output using the color threshold function, but am a bit lost as to where to go from here.

Also as an aside, is there a way to properly run the Weka Segmentation on very large images?

Thank you!

Since you already have white and black objects, you can directly apply Color Threshold to the original file just by selecting the central brightness pick. You should play a little bit with the range selection until you are satisfied with it

The selection shoulds look like:

Then, click on the “Select” button in the “Threshold Color” menu. You will get a ROI selecting only the outside of the black and white particles.

Whatever measurement you make with “Analyze” will only take into account the selected part of the image (excluding the particles). For example, “Plot Histogram” and “Measure” give
imageimage

Hope this helps

Unfortunately, thresholding this way won’t work because the gray values found in the particles are also found in the remaining portion of the image. Excluding the particles this way excludes information we need in the photo.