How to define areas of interest on an image and then quantify fluorescence in those areas of interest?

fluorescence
quantify
dapi

Hi all,

I am an undergrad just getting started with ImageJ and I am unsure of how to quantify cell fluorescence on some images I have taken.

For context: I stained cells with two fluorophores, DAPI and PerCP. I currently have .lif image files of these slides, where each image file contains three different, adjacent images: one taken with visible light, one at DAPI emission wavelength, and one at PerCP emission wavelength. I have installed the BioFormat plugin for ImageJ so that the software is able to open the .lif image files.

I would like to use the DAPI image to define areas of interest on the slide (i.e. I am only interested in analyzing the PerCP fluorescence of cells that displayed DAPI staining). Once I have used the DAPI image to select areas of interest, I would like to quantify the level of PerCP staining in those areas of interest, perhaps by converting the PerCP image to greyscale and measuring the brightness.

I have to admit I really have no idea how to start. I’ve googled around a bit but have not had success at accomplishing this task, I think I just lack the software familiarity needed to engage in trail-and-error intelligently, so I’ve just been floundering around not knowing what’s going on.

Does anyone have any tips on how to:

• select only regions that exhibited DAPI fluorescence for further fluorescence quantification analysis?
  • convert PerCP fluorescence to greyscale and measure the brightness in the areas of interest?

Thanks so much!

Godd day!

I think what you like to do has been done already several times by others.

Did you search this Forum by terms like

flourescence, DAPI, double staining, colocation, etc.

Furthermore and instead of asking Google, it is always a good idea to focus on the tool in question and first study the ImageJ User Guide:
https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/docs/guide/index.html