How to count clustered irregularly shaped cells without dapi?

Hello,

I have images of ganglia with the following staining:
1 Dapi
2 Tubb3 (af488)
3 TH (af568)
4 CHaT (af647)

I have a macro in imageJ in which I set the threshold for each channel, per image and export the data (for example area and %area).
Lately I have noticed that the cell sizes may play a role in the ganglia, so I want to count the cells in a ganglia so that I can learn more about the amount of cells and the size of the cells.

I am not very experienced in image analysis and I have tried to do this in imageJ and Cellprofiler. The biggest issues I ran into are that my cells are irregular in shape, and intensity. This makes segregating the cells a problem for me. Also my dapi staining is not usable in most of my sections, so I will have to use one of the other stainings (probably tubb3, since this is the most prominently present in the ganglia)

Can anyone advice me on how to handle and proceed with this problem? Ideally I would like to use imageJ, since I can then include the script into the one I already have.

Kindly,
Lieke
E11219A_gl16-01_s03_AF488.zip (8.5 MB)

Hi Lieke,

The image you have uploaded is an RGB file and each channel has very little detail (approx 30 levels of grey out of 256). Could you instead upload the original image?

M.

Hi,

Is this any better? The original file is around 300mb, which I can’ t upload because it is too big.
C2-E11219A_gl16.czi -AF488_8bitt.zip (11.5 MB)

If you generate a free gmail account, you should be able to share up to ~15GB images on GoogleDrive. Or FireFox Send can handle up to 1GB, I think.

Okay does this work? https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnS5aJ8Q-_bco2r5nKLvla-dHVeu?e=E6eaax

1 Like

Hi Lieke,

That’s much better, thank you. The files are large .czi so you could reduce them by cropping just the region of interest and clearing everything around. You could do this automatically using the third and fourth channels:

duplicate your image
split channels