How to analyse the tortuosity of an object

Hello, I am new to this forum and would like some help in how best to measure the tortuosity of an object in ImageJ software. I am a clinical researcher without any background in coding/computer progarmming at all so please bear with me if my questions are appear simplistic/obvious answers!

I am looking at whether the morphology (namely tortuosity) of a special type of gland in the human body affects its ability to function normally. Usually these glands are linear/straight but some display significant “wiggly” (tortuous) appearance. I came across ImageJ from recommendation by a colleague to analyse images of these glands but I am struggling to find a measure/metric that best describes tortuosity; and how to go about doing this.

I would be most grateful if someone is able to help me do this by describing the steps to do this in a simple manner,

Respectfully,

Paz

Hi @Paz_Bilkhu
To help you :
Are you allowed to deposit one or even two images?
An original and another where is found the organ that you want to study.
Then specify your wishes: length, surface, width etc …
Finally, what do you call tortuosity?

Many thanks Mathew for the prompt response - I have attached files (below) with an image of the glands, they are the linear structures which extend vertically in the eyelid.

One image shows the type of images taken. The other I have drawn on lines to show a “normal” straight gland (on the left) and another “wiggly” (tortuous) gland (on the right)

meibography image

meibography image with lines to show tortuosity

There is no specific length/width, just the amount of “wiggling” the gland displays (which is tortuosity).

Kind regards,

Paz

Hi Paz,