How can I identify and export individual particles to an STL file?

fiji
segmentation

Hello all, I’m new to Fiji and actually my background is civil engineering. I used Fiji to segment a 3D scanned image of touching sand particles. The sample was segmented by level-set method in Plugins-Segmentation, and I got an image stack like such

The white is background and the black is identified as individual particles. I want to export one of them as surface mesh in STL format, so that the 3D shape can be loaded by a third party software for engineering modelling. I’ve tried Analyze Particles and some other functions but seemed they can’t meet my purpose.

Can anyone help me with that? Please give me some guidance on exporting a single 3D particle. Thanks in advance!

Hi @Don_HUO,

you can read in your thresholded binary stack in the 3D Viewer.

Those STL files can easily be opend/imported in software like Blender.

If you need only one of your objects you can try to read in those first in the 3D Manager from the 3D suite update site (→Plugins→3D→3D Manager). From here you can add individual objects to the 3D Viewer (to my knowledge) and then export only those.

Hope that helps.

Noting that I would like this to be easier to do in SciView, and it eventually will be. Here is what I do to accomplish this goal:

Given some stack with thresholded/binary blobs, e.g.

In Analyze>3D OC Options, disable show numbers:

Then generate an image where each segment is labeled with a unique number. This is accomplished with Analyze>3D Objects Counter and selecting “Objects” as follows (note that you may not want to use the size filter, if so, then make min 0 and max very large):

This will give you a new stack with each connected region (sometimes called connected components) filled with a unique number (change the LUT to a colorful one like 3-3-2, to better see your labeled segments):