How can I calculate BV/TV ratio of cranium?

I am a student and research the topic of the critical cranial bone defect.

Now, I am confused with a problem that I used Bone J to calculate the BV/TV ratio of the defect site.

But the data showed higher than I except (I except the negative control will approach to 0%, but I obtain 95%). So I would wonder to know if I set the wrong parameter during the process, or I need to set something new?

This is my setting process:
Specify for a region → Adjust the new Contrast → Duplicate the stack would like to calculate → Set the Threshold to convert Binary → Plugin (→Bone J→Fraction→Area/Volume fraction)

In addition, I also can’t obtain the same total volume after specifying the same region. How to explain this problem? Does the result decide to the head position of Rattus during scanning?

Thanks for the person who resolves my problem. If there has the wrong grammar, please correct to me!

Sincerely,
Jeffrey (Zhen-Jie)

Hi Jeffrey,

I suspect the thresholding didn’t work the way you expected it: it is measuring the black pixels as foreground. When you do “Apply threshold”, make sure you tick the “dark background” box.

You can check if this works on the top of your image - but beware of the lookup table (LUT) - the image in your example has an “inverted lookup table” (see right above your image!) which means that 0-value pixels are shown in white and 255-value pixels are shown in black…

I don’t understand what you mean by “obtain the same total volume” - are you using a region of interest (ROI)? Can you explain further, maybe with an example?

Hope this helps!

Best,
Alessandro

1 Like

Hi Alessandrofelder:

Thanks for answering my doubts!

I will try the resolvation of the first doubt later.

The second doubt, I try my best to explain in detail.
Because I specify a region(10080*7500 um) on my image and duplicate slides, I can use Bone J to calculate a total volume value.