Hole diameter Analysis

Background

• I’m fairly new to image processing and quantitative analysis so I’m hoping to get some assistance here. I’m trying to use Fiji to get hole diameter measurements for most of the holes in the image; it doesn’t have to be all the holes however. The ultimate goal is to create a macro for this image that will process it to give it the best chance of accurately discerning where the edge of the hole (black) is and when it stops (greyish/whiteish) rim. The challenge is that I don’t know the right sequence of steps in image processing before the Analyze Particles step. There’s lighter areas towards the edge of the image that I’m guessing would need to be corrected as well as the exclusion of the holes on the edges that are not complete holes.

Would this

be good enough.

In any case, you should try to improve the image acquisition process, i.e. lighting and perhaps even camera and optics.
What camera do you use?

Furthermore, JPG-compression is a no-no because it introduces artifacts that can’t be removed. If you encounter problems with posting better images, please consider cloud services or post parts of your images.

Thank you! I guess there is room for to improve the acquisition process. I think what you have is good. Would you mind sharing what you did to process the image? This is the step I get hung up on. I’ve looked at adjusting the following but I never know the right sequence is and what’s really worth doing.

Brightness/contrast
threshold
sharpen
find edges
enhance contrast
despeckle
watershed

What camera do you use?

Most steps you’ve posted appear not really necessary.
You shall see a short macro that does most of the processing.
Please tell us what you mean by diameter, because the holes aren’t circular.

Here is a possible ImageJ-macro:

run("8-bit");
run("Find Edges");
setAutoThreshold("Intermodes");
run("Convert to Mask");
run("Erode");
run("Erode");