Help with ImgLib2 algorithm.fft.FourierTransform

I am trying to develop a plugin for ImageJ2, and I need to perform the FFT on an image. Since I’m new to developing for ImageJ2, I looked at examples online, and I found one that uses net.imglib2.algorithm.fft.FourierTransform. However, when I try to compute the FFT of a 512 by 512 image, it seems that the output is 360 by 720. I am very confused, because I believe the FFT is supposed to have the same dimensions as the input image, but the output is very different. This is my code for computing the FFT:

final FourierTransform< FloatType, ComplexFloatType > fft = new FourierTransform< FloatType, ComplexFloatType >(image, new ComplexFloatType() );
fft.process();
final Img< ComplexFloatType > templateFFT = fft.getResult(); 

Thanks!

Good day!

Although I have very little insights to ImageJ-2, I know that it comprises a module that performs a certain kind of Fourier transformation. The implementation is said to be mostly faster than the classic FFT and is widely independent of the image format (no need for square-sized 2^x support). As you’ve observed already, the output format takes some getting used to …

I have no idea whether the ImageJ-1 FFT-implementation was conserved or re-programmed in ImageJ-2. At least the ImageJ-1 FFT-implementation should be accessible. It works as you would expect it to work but it is no classic FFT-implementation as well because it is based on the Fast Hartley Transformation which is slightly faster than the classic FFT-implementation. If you are looking for the classic implementation, then the ImageJ plugin “Parallel FFTJ” is what you should consider:
https://sites.google.com/site/piotrwendykier/software/parallelfftj

Regards

Herbie

4 Likes

Hi @egosti

There are a couple of similar questions here and here.