Help with counting osteoclasts

cellprofiler

Hi
I am pretty new to Cellprofiler and hope to get some advice on how to count osteoclasts.
I’m looking to count the number of osteoclasts in my images, while ignoring the mononuclear cells.
The criteria for counting would be that the osteoclasts have at least 3 nuclei and are stained red/purple.
Given that osteoclast are often very big and irregular in shape, and can have many nuclei, is it even possible to do an automated counting using software such as Cellprofiler ?

Hmm, this is a tough question.

At least on my phone the nuclei all look brown, I don’t see red/purple!

And, I’m not sure which cells have single nuclei vs multiple, how can you tell? There isn’t a membrane stain as far as I can see that delineates the boundaries?

All that said, if YOU can see the difference in the images, then I bet you’d have good luck using CellProfiler to identify all individual nuclei (this seems pretty easy for your images, they look great!), measure lots of features about them, then use CellProfiler Analyst’s Classifier tool to classify them. You can check out our various papers and the manual for CellProfiler Analyst to learn more!

Thanks for your feedback Anne !

To clarify, in my images I have used TRAP staining to stain the cells, the cytoplasm of the osteoclast will be stained dark red/purple, unfortunately the other cells (mononuclear) are often stained brown, so it can be tricky to tell them apart from the osteoclasts sometimes. As for the nuclei, they are not stained in any way. I know that it would probably be wise to do future experiments with different staining methods and include a nuclei stain, but as it is we have a lot of images from experiments done using this method, and that’s why I would like see if it possible to count them using a software.