Help with CellProfiler 4.0.4 and cell segmentation

Sample image and/or code

Background

I need help with CP pipeline to identify Red Nuclei of cells in visual cortex in two photon calcium imaging.
(Green color is for activated cells. Don’t need to identify these.)

3 separate individual PNG image files, each correspond to a time averaged image capture.
This is not Z-stack.

Analysis goals

I need help with CP pipeline to identify Red Nuclei of cells in visual cortex in two photon calcium imaging
and count the number of Red nuclei in each of 3 PNG images.

I also need to save the 3 output image files, with Red nuclei circled and marked by CP.

I am new to CP, so any help appreciated!

Challenges

• I am new to CP.
  • I downloaded CP 4.0.4, ran example file “ExampleFly” pipeline and it works well.
  • No
  • CP 4.0.4,

Clarification: Need to identify and count Red channel only, which is nucleus of cell.

Also need to save the perimeter/boundary of nucleus/cell marked by CP, as binary mask or something similar, so I can post-process it. Any help appreciated!

Hi @ramana,

Have you checked out some of our video tutorials that might help with this?

FOV3_donut_gray_0_4_outline.tif (41.0 KB)

Thank you! I am able to create my first pipeline from your video tutorial!

I have another image file, atatched above, which has donut/ring shaped cells and CP misses some of them. I specified “Fill holes in objects after declumping and thresholding” but it does not help.

Any pointers appreciated!

correct image attached.

Here are a couple ideas:

• Apply a circular Hough filter. This would enhance ring, or circular, objects. Back in CP 2 we had such a filter, but I don’t think it’s in the current version, CellProfiler 4.0, so let’s not worry about this right now