Help with batch processing surface area images

Hey everyone,
I am fairly new to imageJ. I am looking to get the area and standard deviation of hundreds of images. The images contain a 4.7 cm x 4.7 cm tile with a piece of coral attached to it. I am trying to look at the surface area of only the coral and would like to write a little macro to batch process them. I can place the tile on an all black or white (pictured) background to make things easier. It works pretty well to use the wand tool to trace the outline but im not sure if I can make it auto set the tolerance with reasonable accuracy for multiple images. Alternatively, I was thinking about converting to an 8 bit image, using threshold to define object vs background (might be difficult with the pink coralline algae on the tile. See example images). All images will be taken from a fixed tripod under the same lighting conditions. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

P.S. I picked some of the most difficult images to analysis (they contain a lot of pink coralline algae that imagej often confuses with the coral). If I absolutely have to I will scrape away as much algae as I can to make the distinction more clear.

Hi,

When you have a look at the histogram of your images, you see that you have 3 modes : the background, the tile and your coral. First thing is to select the tile. To do so, you can threshold the blue component, keep the largest object and make some large opening and hole fill to remove small artefacts. Inside the tile, a triangle threshold on blue component allows to retrieve coral (the biggest object). If you want to refine, you can compute the mean grey value of your objects in the red component (redirect in the Set Measurements…). They differ a lot from coral to coralline algae.

Nico

1 Like

Hey Nico,

Thank you so much for you response. It is definitely helping put me on the right track. I am very poor at Imagej so I am struggling with some of the specifics.