Help with Automatic Object Identification and Background Subtraction

Dear Friends,
I am new to CellProfiler and I have a problem with automatic object identification during my analysis. My cells are transfected with GFP, nuclear staining with Alexa-568 and DAPI. I am interested to evaluate Alex-568 and DAPI intensity in GFP+ and GFP-negative cells separately. The transfection efficiency for my cells is very very low. Next, I am trying to subtract the background intensity.

I have tried to make several pipelines. Manual object identification is perfectly working but I don’t understand how to identify the GFP positive objects automatically and how to subtract the background intensity in each channel?! Please help me with this. I have attached my pipelines and one image. Please let me know if you need more information.

Thank you very much in advance. :smiley:

Best Regards,
Puru20200510 new_pipeline.cppipe (16.0 KB) Advanced Pipeline_Puru.cppipe (16.5 KB)

Hi @Puru,

I’m struggling to understand why you think you need to do a background subtraction step? In the example it looks like the staining is pretty obvious. The general approach I’d take for this problem is as follows:

IdentifyPrimaryObjects: Find “Nuclei” from DNA stain.
IdentifySecondaryObjects: Expand “Nuclei” a few pixels using the Distance-N method to generate approximate “Cells”.
MeasureObjectIntensity: Quantify green staining in “Cells”.
FilterObjects: Specify a filter cutoff based on Intensity_MeanIntensity_GFP to classify cells as positive or negative.
ExportToSpreadsheet: Export image and cell sheets. Image sheet should have the count of total and positive cells per image.

If you really need to remove background for some reason, I’d suggest looking at the ImageMath or CorrectIllumination modules.

Hope that helps.

Hi David,