Help with analysis

I am an honours student doing analysis on mouse pancreatic tissue. My project entails analysis on the islets where i must measure the total islet area, calculate the total number of alpha and beta cells and their respective areas…
My first problem is setting a scale/calibrayion…is this the same thing? I captured my pictures at 10X objective with a 0.33um/pixel value. Please assist with setting of scale as Image j asks for pixel/um…
I am new to Image J and i am lost really…ive tried thresholding…counting manually…i just cant get it right…the manual counting is very time consuming as i have 320 samples to count…each with numerous islets…

Ive heard about macros? Can somebody please help assisting me in writing one perhaps or a link to one that i can use perhaps?

Please i am losing my mind here​:cry::sob:

Hi and welcome to the forum,

here is a tutorial for setting the scale: https://imagej.net/Spatial_Calibration

For the first basic analysis you might not need macros. If you could post example images we might be able to help you with the segmentation.

Cheers,
Christopher

The default answer to starting macro programming is the page with all available functions listed, the fact that ImageJ 1 has a debugger built in, allowing you to step through code line by line while inspecting the variables you use, and the macro recorder, which helps you to translate manual image processing steps to a list of code.

1 Like

SLIDE 347-18 003.2X10.tif (3.5 MB) this is a relatively big islet…
SLIDE 245-18 004 X10.tif (3.6 MB) this is a medium sized one…majority of myislets are these size

Wit regards to spatial calibration as in the tutorial…do I set the scale for each new image i analyze?