Help viewing cool flame pressure changes at 3000FPS shadow-graph

Hello all,

I am an image processing novice, and I need advice on an important problem. I am observing a small fuel droplet burning in intense environments, and I am recording the time at which flame/pressure waves form. I have been practicing my own methods, but I am still far from a reliable method to find proper timing on the cool flame formation (It starts somewhere near the bottom, travels up, and ignites the fuel droplet). I am not sure how to add stack files on these posts, but I will put a picture.My high fps videos are Shadow-graphs

Key is, these waves should be the only things moving each frame but they have such a low reading early on

My current process is as follows:

1. Duplicate one of the first few slices (I’ll call it Background Slice)
  2. Invert both the stack and the background slice (I do this as the waves show up as lower intensity pixels)
  3. Run an image calculation and do Difference of the original stack and the background slice (This removes a great deal of screen smudges)
  4. Raise the brightness and contrast to about 5 ticks away from their MAX (This obviously causes some unavoidable noise)
  5. Maybe smooth the image?

Even after all these steps, I’m still caught guessing at what frame my cool flame starts. I’ve played with some thresholds as well. I’m novice level here, so I can’t add attachments. If I can provide more info in any way I will.
Before

After

It’s fun to play around with, but I’m no good. ANY HELP would be so so appreciated.
Thank you,
Vasko

Another picture, showing the formation at the bottom.
If I could somehow get a macro to give me accurate frame timing

Hello vnechev,
That seems to be an interesting study. If you simply respond to this inquiry you should be able to upload more details, such as the FPS and acquisition timing, sometimes referred to as ISO.
Bob