Help please Herovici staining quantitation

Hello, I am really new in this imaging processing, and I wonder if
does any one have experience on determining different colors in a staining/
Herovici staining for new and old collagen quantitation. In principle, blue * new collagen( red> old collagen). What is the best way to quantify this images in Fiji?78_4d_W_[13804,37044]_composite_image.tif (2.9 MB)

Please do not keep opening new threads on the same subject.

If you can get a section stained with only the blue dye (pricromethyl blue?) and another with the red (picroacid fuchsin?) then you could generate a 2 colour vector to use with the colour deconvolution plugin, but the issue then becomes how do you compare their intensities. I suspect that this is not a stoichiometric stain, so you would not be able to tell quatitatively how much there is of one or another type of stained material.

1 Like

First I sincerely apologise for creating two post with the same problem. I just got loss And couldn’t find the link to my first one. I do have a a staining of each component, but got really lost in translation about the vector suggestion… my idea is to quantify this blue red areas and then validate the results with inmunostaining for specific collagens. It has been challenging…

I suspect that the staining is not really “specify” to collagen “types”.
To detect collagen “types” (I, II, III, etc.) you need a different approach, perhaps immunhistochemistry, but that is not stoichiometric (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stoichiometry) either, so while you can tell if a given collagen type is present at a given location, you cannot tell how much there is based on stain intensity (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beer–Lambert_law).