HELP - Bloodstain Pattern Analysis - Removing denim background in order to analyze bloodstains

I’m a graduate student analyzing a couple of types of blood spatter on clothing. I’m having no issues with analyzing stains with a white background; however, one of my fabrics is dark blue denim jeans, which doesn’t contrast near as well with the blood spatter. Can someone assist me in trying to remove the busy background of the denim?

I just started using ImageJ, so I’m not very experienced. I’ve tried playing around with it for hours, and I can’t seem to get it just right. Converting to binary still includes too much of the background. Again, I just want to analyze the bloodstains, nothing else. I figured there is a way to do this, I’m just not aware of it. I’ll attach some sample pictures to show what I’m talking about.

Any help would be awesome.

So… to get you at least started - I would start with Color Threshold (check out this forum thread). You can also have a look at the Trainable Weka Segmentation plugin - it’s very user-friendly and effective for segmentation. That is what I’m assuming you want to do… segment the blood spots - counting, measuring area, etc. ??

Another helpful forum thread might be this one.

Just depends on what you need exactly.

1 Like

Yes I’m wanting to segment the blood spots so I can analyze their area, perimeter, etc.

I’ll be completely honest, I have no idea what the “Trainable Weka Segmentation” plugin is or how to get it. The color threshold I’ve messed with so much and I’m not sure what my goal is?? No matter what I do, I can’t just make the blood spatter only visible.

I’m trying not to go crazy lol