Harmonization of image metadata for different file formats. omero.mde?

Dear omero-community,

I am quite new to Omero and I am currently looking into harmonization of image metadata for different file formats (dcm, czi, tif, ometif).

Bioformats apparently recognizes metadata keys really well and stores most of it in the Acquisition Tab under “original metadata”. However, the Tags and Values in the original metadata depend on the imported file format. Is there a way to harmonize the metadata for aformentioned file formats in an easy, automated way (without manually adjusting every field)? Can this be done using the omero.mde xml-templates? If I understand it correctly these templates are describing what is shown in the “General” Tab, but not really how the original metadata is parsed into standard key-value pairs in the general tab.

Lastly, I looked a bit into the Python API, can metadata be queried in a targeted fashion from both the original metadata and the ome metadata in the general tab?

Thanks in advance for your efforts guys.

Best regards & have a nice day.
Ali

2 Likes

Hi @AliDurmaz,