GUI for job submission to a cluster?

gui
cellprofiler
cluster
createbatchfiles

I’ve configured a small multi-node cluster using Torque/PBS on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS. Batch analysis works well with job submission over command line. Now I’d like to add some kind of (web?) GUI for users not familiar with / scared of the command line. Is BatchProfiler the way to go? How do I go about deploying such a solution? From what I can see on GitHub, it’s a set of python scripts. Is it a working web site that I can put into apache directory?

Apologies for possibly naive questions but I have no experience in configuring web services and the documentation for BatchProfiler is rather scarce. Are there any screenshots of BatchProfiler in action to see what it can do? Googling for images shows CP authors :wink:

I think BatchProfiler is no longer a working website, sorry.

Speaking as a biologist for whom running stuff on the cluster was VERY scary… if you use CreateBatchFiles inside your pipeline so that they just have to submit one line of cellprofiler -p WholeBatch.h5 blah blah , you learn to get over that fear pretty quickly :wink: .

I think a GUI is a really nice thing to have though!

I’ve never used it, but Novartis recently released Jenkins with Cellprofiler which looks interesting.
paper
github

@Swarchal Thanks for the info, this looks very promising!

@bcimini That’s reassuring but from my experience my colleagues don’t respond well to command line :wink: Don’t you guys use GUI for cluster submissions at Broad Institute? It would be great to have batch submission right from CP, just like you can do it in Matlab.