Green Flourescent Cells

cellprofiler

I’m new to CellProfiler. So I’m not sure how to use it. I have an image of green flourescent stained cell and red flourescent stained cell. Could any one give me instruction step by step to set up in CellProfiler to cound green flourescent cell and red flourescent cells? Thank you so much for you help.

Hello,
Would you mind giving me a bit more background on the green and red fluorescence (what is stained green and what is stained red)? Are you trying to quantify a ratio of green to red? Are your images false-colored or grayscale?

thanks,
martha

The green flourescent cells are caspase 3 expressed cell. The red flourescent cells are necrotic cell stain with PI. I want to count the ratio between green and red cells so I could come up ratio of apoptotic cells in different treatment group.
I’m not sure what false-color and gray-color is. Could you please tell me how to check this. Thank you

Thanks,
Dinh

When you open your image files, do they appear in shades of gray, or are the green cells colored green (and red cells colored red)?

Hi Martha, the green cells appear green stained and the red cells appear red stain.

So, first, you will need to either export your images so they appear in grayscale; or you can try the example pipeline, ColorToGray. Then, once you have your grayscale images saved, you can start working on your pipeline. What you will need some of the following modules:
LoadImages
CorrectIllumination_Calculate (two of these-- one for the green channel and one for the red channel)
CorrectIllumination_Apply (two of these-- one for the green channel and one for the red channel)
IdentifyPrimAutomatic (to identify green cells)
IdentifyPrimAutomatic (to identify red cells)
MeasureObjectIntensity (same comment as above… for the measure modules)
MeasureObjectIntensity
CalculateRatios
ExportToExcel