Grain Boundary Segmentation

I’m a beginner in using fiji/ImageJ. I would like to identify the grain boundary and then measure the grain size. However, after using the function of the thresholding methods, I can’t identify the grain clearly. If possible, I hope someone can give me some ideas or kindly guide me to do the segmentation on the uploaded image.

Hi Vanness,
What do you mean by grains boundary exactly ? Outlining manually on an example image would help to figure it out. Is it the edge or the small dark bits?

Also for the analysis you should not put a scale bar as it will impact the intensity histogram and thus any operation relying on it like thresholding.

Hi Thomas,
Thank you so much for your reply.5x0.8x_09-1.tif (3.6 MB)
Referring to the uploaded image, the orange color circle is the grain boundary I would like to identify. The black color circle area is the inner part of the grain, the small dark bits are not the stuff I want and the thresholding methods always count them as a boundary. How can I remove those dark bits and just only identify the boundary only? Thank you.

Hmm not so easy as both have similar color.
I tried identifying regionof the mask with a minimum size but its not perfect.
Maybe with the original tiff you would get better result (I used a crop of the jpeg from the first image)

Here is a macro with the following step.
Copy pasting wont work but you can reproduce by clicking the corresponding menu (use the search bar in Fiji to help you find the menus)
After the split channel, click on the image of the channel to process (red or green work ok)

run("Smooth");
run("Split Channels");
setAutoThreshold("Li");
run("Erode");
run("Find Connected Regions", "allow_diagonal display_one_image regions_for_values_over=100 minimum_number_of_points=100 stop_after=-1");
1 Like

Hi Thomas,