Getting started with Developer's Version

Hi there,

I’ve been working with CP for a few months now and I am eagerly looking forward to learning the Developer’s Version. Other than writing some pretty cool PIPELINES for CP, I have no experience with programming.

I’ve looked at the “CellProfiler Help: DeveloperInfo” in the CP manual. This began to make sense once I opened up individual Modules. I appreciated the detail in the explanation at the beginnings of each module. Great!

Then I tried to open one of my PIPELINES from my Compiled Version 7522 or Version 7737 for 32bit XP (courtesy of Kate Madden who fixed a couple of bugs for me). I would like to be able to convert Kate’s changes in the modified modules in 7737 to the developer’s version. The Matlab program did not recognize them as .m files and couldn’t open them. It also wouldn’t open the Modules in the Compiled version because they are .txt files.

1. Please explain what the relationship is between the individual modules and the PIPELINES,

2. Please explain the relationship between the programs in the Compiled Version and the Developer’s Version. I

3. I am working on a 64 bit computer for the Developer’s Version (not sure whether XP or Vista, but I can find out). Would that make a difference in being able to open my 32 bit compiled versions?

4. How would I convert my 32 bit PIPELINES to the Developer’s version on the 64 bit computer?

My goal is to be able to string a few of my pipelines together so they will work in series (Run Multiple Pipelines) without stopping for confirmation about the file names before moving to the next pipeline. Since my ultimate goal would be to run the whole job in a batch on a cluster on the 64 bit computer, I need to have it running smoothly through all of the pipelines without stopping to prompt me for an answer before moving on.