Getting Fluorescence values of Pixels

Hey everyone, I was wondering if any of you could help me with something. I am very new at imaging with almost no training in how to use the software to analysis the images that I get so I could really use some help with this. I am trying to reproduce the following technique from a paper I found:
“Based on the fluorescence images the fraction of pixels with fluorescence values higher than two standard deviations of background was calculated for all slices from each animal.”

I have no idea how I would go about doing this but my boss wants me to get it done, can any of you point me in the right direction?

P.S. Since I am very new at this, do any of you know of a good tutorial online that might help me understand how to use imaging software?

Thank you!

Hi Franklin,

In my opinion, this document from Peter Bankhead is really good when it comes to analysing fluorescence microscopy images using Fiji. It’s a bit long, but it really explains the basic concepts and goes on to some more advanced tools, with many example and exercises.

For your question, the other people here may have a much better answer than me, but I don’t know a plugin that does that already and I would suggest a basic manual method: