Germination count on trays

imagej
particle-counting

Hello!

For my bachelor thesis I am working on a project for which I will have to record the germination count for a 96 hole tray. I will have to do this weekly, for 1000 samples, so I would like to automate the process. I am very new to ImageJ, but I thought of a way to count the boxes in a grid that have no green pixels. I need some simple explanation please. The grid on the picture I added in ImageJ.

Thank you very much for any reply.

Rick

ImageJ Functionality
Multiple data point on image

Good day Rick,

the image looks familiar …
http://forum.image.sc/t/find-a-grid-and-analyze-it/9995?u=herbie

I’d use a square-selection that is moved over the matrix and measure the percentage green for every position.

Could you please post the original raw image in TIF- or PNG-format.

Regards

Herbie

Hello Herbie,

Do you mean recording the macro measuring every plant-hole on %green? That seems like a good idea! Is there a way that i can get the results listed in excel?

Rick

[…] measuring every plant-hole on %green?

Yes.
Maybe the ROI-manager is helpful, as well as multi-measure.

Is there a way that i can get the results listed in excel?

Sure, just put all measurements in a results table.

Be successful

Herbie

Thank you for your reply! I have made 96 regions in the ROI manager! As you can see in the picture below. How do i peform an analysis of the amount of red particles on every region?

Rick

Rick,

please study the ImageJ user guide and especially the section about thresholding and the ROI-manager:
https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/docs/guide/index.html

How did you proceed to get the image?

Regards

Herbie

ADDITION:

I would not binarize the image.

1. Perhaps you split the RGB-image and work with the green channel only.
  2. Then store the 96 selections in the ROI-Manager.
  3. Check “Mean” and “Median” in “Set Measurement”.
  4. Perform “Multi Measure” from the ROI-Manager.