General

cellprofiler

Hi,

I am a programmer and I am new to CellProfiler.
I am checking feasibility of writing an application that combines elements of cell image analysis.

• Is it possible to run a pipeline for sequence of images in one “hit”?

• In my application I want to receive a list of images and perform sequence of actions for each one of them.
    Can I use cellprofiler services within my application? for example: execute a pre-saved pipeline for each image.

Thanks,
Shaul Geva
IDEA development & Production
ISRAEL
+972-8-9469482

Hi Shaul,

CellProfiler is designed for high-throughput use. You create a pipeline which includes the image analysis you want to perform, and this same pipeline is run on all of your images.

I am not sure what you mean by using CellProfiler services. You could essentially copy the code to load and execute our modules, but the CellProfiler software has been developed for several years and it seems unlikely that you would want to write essentially the same program as we are already developing. You could just take the CellProfiler software and adapt it to whatever function you need since it is free and open-source. CellProfiler is already capable of saving/loading pipelines which you have made in the past.

I hope this helps.

Regards,
Mike Lamprecht

Hello,
If you wanted to use CellProfiler as a stand-alone application on hundreds of images, you could simply put those images in a folder and run a CellProfiler pipeline on them. CellProfiler will cycle through all the images. This is the standard way most people use CellProfiler.

But, it sounds like you want to use your own software and call CellProfiler ‘headless’, that is - you want to run CellProfiler without its graphical user interface (GUI) and just use CellProfiler as an image processing back-end for your own software. This is feasible.