Folder structure in Omero

Dear all
We have recently set up an Omero server. Everything seems to work nicely except for one thing: It seems that we can only have 2 layers of folders inside the Omero dabase, Projects and Datasets.
How can we have more folders inside folders? or is it possible to automatically tag the images with their parent folder? Since this is the structure we currently have, and files inside the folders have the same name exactly, there is no way we can use Omero if we cannot have more than 2 folder layers and if we cannot point to a higher level folder to upload. Any idea?
Cheers
Sylvie

1 Like

Sylvie,

I am not an OMERO developer, but I am a heavy user. I understand your concern regarding OMERO “folder structure”, but I would suggest you think a little differently about data organization when using a platform like OMERO.

If you have multiple levels of directory hierarchy for your data management, it is likely that you are embedding metadata in your organizational structure. Tools like OMERO approach data management in a very different way. Instead of relying on things like filenames and folder structures to provide information about your images, you directly encode that information in the form of structured metadata (e.g., tags, key-value pairs, etc.). Under this framework, Project and Dataset are just more metadata and not necessarily “folders”. In fact, I think OMERO should not use folders as icons for Project and Dataset, because this leads to exactly the confusion you are describing.

What sort of metadata are you currently capturing in the form of a folder hierarchy? Perhaps I, or others, could provide a metadata tagging strategy that would better suit what you are trying to do.

3 Likes

There is a tool that can help OMERO users when it comes to tagging:
http://help.openmicroscopy.org/web-tagging.html

Otherwise, the question you have has been mentioned previously on the old forum: