Fill incomplete holes (beginner help) / Histological analysis

histology
fiji
imagej
macro

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to the use of ImageJ and have been struggeling with a problem for quite a time now.
The first picture you see below is a histological sample of the kidney - the final aim of my project is to
find a way to take a closer look at the geometry of the brown cirlces in the tissue, the capillaries.
Therefore I try to fill the holes of these capillaries, so that the programm can later detect their circularity, perimeter, etc.
The point I’m struggeling with is the fact, that ImageJ doesn’t recognize some of the circles because of being incomplete. So on the second picture you can see the result after

1. Process - Binary - Convert to Mask
  2. Fill Holes

On the third picture you can see another try of 1) + 2) after having edited the picture in Photoshop to desaturate the picture before, make it brighter and add more shadow to it.

As you can see, there are still cirlces that aren’t filled and other ones that are “overlapping”. I could complete the missing circles manually but despite the fact that I do have hundreds of samples this would take incredibly much time.

I would be very, very grateful for any kind of help/advice/ideas/etc.!
All the best,
Charlotte

Good day Charlotte,

this is a classic problem and the best solution is different preparation and image acquisition.

I know that usually this recommendation comes too late (why is this so?).

You may try various binary operations to fill gaps and to separate objects but in any case they will alter the objects and the corresponding measurements. The decision is yours, what approximations are tolerable.

You may also try “Grayscale Morphology”.

Good luck

Herbie

Here’s a quick macro that might help get a little further, although it won’t get everything:

idOrig = getImageID();
run("Duplicate...", " ");
// Get the blue channel only
run("RGB Stack");
idDuplicate = getImageID();
setSlice(1);