fairSIM (ImageJ plugin) development: Beginner's setup questions

Hi everyone!

I’m new to development using ImageJ and a plugin called fairSIM. I am having some difficulties just getting started with it, and I was hoping someone here could get me started more quickly. :smile:

I’m using an up-to-date Arch Linux system using Java 1.8.0_92 and ImageJ 1.51d, and here are the exact steps for reproducing the issues I’m facing.

Setup
mkdir -p ~/test; cd ~/test; git clone https://github.com/fairSIM/fairSIM.git; cd fairSIM; make;

That makes a directory/folder called test in my home directory. It checks out the latest git release, goes into the directory with the Makefile (see the default Makefile here), and runs make.

Problem: The result of that is a compilation error because the Makefile bizarrely expects a program called javac6 to compile the code instead of just javac.

Solution: So, after a minor change of the Makefile by replacing javac6 with javac (the Java compiler executable), I ran make again.

Problem: This time, it tries to compile, but I got a bunch of errors related to ImageJ packages not being found.

Solution: So, I copied the ImageJ JAR file (ij.jar) into ~/test/fairSIM/ (via cp /usr/share/imagej/ij.jar ~/test/fairSIM/ij.jar) and modified the classpath of the Makefile with JFLAGS+= -cp ~/test/fairSIM/ij.jar (see amended Makefile).

Problem: Then, I re-ran make. This time, I encountered many fewer errors (see here). I don’t know how to get rid of these. Any advice?

Problem: I decided to ignore these errors and create a JAR anyway by running
cd ~/test/fairSIM/; make jar
The result is this. So, I still get an error. How can I fix this error?