Failed to import vigra library

Newbie here: I just downloaded regular user CellProfiler 2.1.1 on my Windows 7 system. The small black background message windows says:" vigra import: failed to import the vigra library ".
I looked at the suggested Webpage, and I am not enough of a programmer to figure out what I need too do to fix the failure. (Although I did learn that if you Google vigra and don’t spell properly, you get some interesting results.)

Hi,

That’s odd. Are you using ClassifyPixels? Or do you mean you get that warning when you first launch CellProfiler?

I believe that ClassifyPixels is the only module that uses vigra (and yes, that library was not optimally named!). So if you are not using ilastik and ClassifyPixels, this warning can be ignored. Though it is odd to get it at all if you are just using the compiled “standard” version of CellProfiler, so if you want to clean the slate first, you can try this: Close down CellProfiler and clear CellProfiler’s Windows registry entry, as in this post:
cellprofiler.org/forum/viewt … 3c2#p11494

Hope that helps,
David

Thanks for helping a ‘hand wringing’ new user. Yes, I get the warning on launch of the compiled “standard version” – that was my confusion – why was it asking for references to what the Webpage says is essentially an include file ?
Even though I don’t use (yet) the ClassifyPixels , I did delete the registry entry. I will just ignore the warnings and get on with it.

I tried the “Load an example pipeline” under the “See the a pipeline in action” heading at the beginning of the Welcome Page, and it works fine, and is the basis for teaching myself Cell Profiler. It is a fantastic program, and I’m sorry that I learned of it only recently –

I don’t have Plate Reader data, but do have a lot of *.LSM and *.ZVI images which have soaked up countless hours of mousing, pointing and clicking for ‘by hand’ image analysis . With Cell Profiler, I hope to move forward with automation, and never look back.