Extracting Pores from Image with Noise and different Brightness

Hello and a wonderful day,

I am currently working with ImageJ/Fiji and i am kind of new to this software.

I have a lot of TIF data (from a CT-Scan of a cylindrical object) and trying to extract the pores (darker points of different size in the inner part of the picture). My goal is to get a binary picture with on the one hand the pores and on the other hand the material so i can further process it.
If i want to threshold the picture it shows also the noise in the image (this can be slightly reduced by appling filters but i didnt get a satisfactory result) and its kind of hard to get the pores on the edges because in this area the picture is slightly brighter.

N362014.tif (5.4 MB)

I would appreciate every help and thanks a lot in advance

Ludwig

Your CT-image suffers not only from noise but also from uneven background intensity.
For the latter I’m quite unsure regarding the cause. Is the density of the material decreasing versus the border?
Concerning the noise, you need to improve the image acquisition process, i.e. increase the dose, I guess.
Perhaps @steinr is willing to help.

Here is what I get at best:

1 Like

@anon1754903 No the density is the same over the whole cross section, but its a very dense material (steel) so maybe the penetration of the CT-Scan at the outer edges is a lot better then in the middle section.
Sadly i cant really increase the power, because its already on max power.

Well to me that looks quite good. Thats by far better then what i was possible to get. How did you do it?

Thank you a lot and i really appreciate your help!

Hi
@LudwigSiebert
Here is what I get:

Uploading: 2-1.jpg…
With this macro:

run("Duplicate...", "title=1");
run("Set Scale...", "distance=0 known=0 unit=pixel");
run("Duplicate...", "title=2");
run("Bandpass Filter...", "filter_large=40 filter_small=3 suppress=None tolerance=25");
run("Unsharp Mask...", "radius=30 mask=0.60");