Extracting Hollow circles from Phase Contrast Images [Solved]

segmentation

Hello, I am an undergrad student at the University of Central Florida working with Phase Contrast images that I obtained by experiment at Argonne’s National Labs Advanced Photon Source. I have been working with these images for the past three months and have reached a wall. I have written hundreds of lines of code in MATLAB, utilizing every package and have worked extensively with ImageJ (Fiji) but with little improvement.

My Problem:
I need to isolate the small particles in this image. They are hollow circles that are very similar to the Background. They are difficult to see in a static frame so I have attached a gif.
Image(hard to see anything):

Close up:

Some of them circled:

GIF (make it full screen to see)
:

The images are 16bit tiffs. 1024x1024

My current approach is two subtract the next image from the current image, and then multiply it by a factor of 10-100.
Image=(image(K)-image(k+1))*10
Result:

I am then using a circle algorithm to find the circles and fill them in for I can track them.
Even through I spent a lot of time developing this, I am not to happy with it. Primarily since the images are subtracted images (ghost particles) and the circle finder has inconsistencies between frames.

I would prefer to alter the original images and exact the circle features, but I can figure out how. Can someone please help?!

I recently discovered that the circle finder can “kinda” find the circles in the orginal images (i.e. the white circles in the second image) but I am unsure of the error over an entire image.

Here is a link to a google folder with 10 images:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1botW2ehlTKcj_50zNWs_aM7Ia5-B7Mho?usp=sharing

I don’t have a direct solution, but here’s two small ideas.