Extract fluoresence intensities from tiff file with 3000 circular spots

Dear

My name is Wim Trypsteen and I am a graduate student at Ghent University.
I have a specific imageJ image processing question:

I need to extract fluorescence intensities from a tiff file that has a picture of a slide with about 3000 circular spots.
How can I do this in ImageJ if at all possible?
This would require making a stencil/layout, overlap this with the tiff image and extract the fluorescent values of those 3000 circular spots.

Best
Wim

This is possible with the ROI Manager.

You can execute a particle analysis to detect the circular spots and add the particles to the ROI manager.

https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/docs/guide/146-30.html#toc-Subsection-30.2

https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/docs/guide/146-30.html#fig:The-ROI-Manager

The fluorescent values from each ROI can be extracted with the ImageJ API by iterating over each ROI in the ROI Manager.

https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/plugins/roi-iterator/index.html

I applied the API in my application (Bio7) to transfer ROI pixels from all ROI’s in the ROI Manager (of several layers) to the statistical package R.

Here an older example (action is now called ‘Pixel RM’ - see second example below):

This is used for example for supervised classification:

Thank you for the reply!

I had a look at but it is not really what I am after.
I have a atypic microarray layout of spots where I want to make a template with 3000 circles and overlay that with the tiff file image. Next I want to extract the fluoresence value of the overlapped premade circles.
Is this something I can do with your suggestion?

Best and thanks again for your time!
Wim

Yes you can do this easily with a scripting language (or ImageJ macro or Java).

For instance you can draw your ovals (i used double values here, see API) with JavaScript and add them to the ROI Manager:

var ovalWidth = 10.0;
    var ovalHeight = 10.0;
    var ovalDist = 20.0;