Exporting multiple images to ImageJ using scripting

Hi all,
I’m looking to export multiple images from Qupath to ImageJ in one go using the script editor. At the moment I have been using the “Sending Image Region to ImageJ” button for each individual image. Does anyone have experience in trying this and would be able to help please?

Cheers,
Kris

The bit that actually saves the image is commented out, but this gives a starting point: https://petebankhead.github.io/qupath/scripting/2018/03/07/script-extracting-image-regions-to-imagej.html

Cheers Pete,
I’ll give it a go!

Kris

Hi Pete,

That script works great thanks. Just one more thing, is it possible to export detection objects created in qupath along with the image into ImageJ using this method? Sorry, I’m just starting out with the .groovy scripting.

Thanks again for your help, love the program.

Kris

1 Like

Ah, not so easily. With v0.1.2 I think this is probably the key method:

I can’t promise the method hasn’t shifted amidst all the refactoring I’m doing for v0.2.0 at the moment… although the benefit is that it should be more logical and documented after the changes.

It’s definitely scripting one way or another, just more complex. The minimal code to get something working will depend on

• which version of QuPath you’re using
  • if you’re exporting a full image at full resolution, or a downsampled region
  • if your detections are cells, and you need both the nucleus ROI and the cell boundary ROI or just one of them
  • if you need annotations as well as detections transferred
  • if you need to handle extra dimensions (e.g. a time series or z-stack)

If you can describe in more detail what you want & for what purpose I’ll give a bit more thought to the simplest way to do it. For example, if you really want to get the detections to ImageJ because you’re wanting to get a binary mask then that could be generated directly in the script without any need to bother converting all the ROIs.