Explain to me like I'm 5: what do Zernike features mean?

Hi all,

I’m a simple biologist and I’m trying to analyse some images for a colleague. She’s interested in cell polarity and I’ve seen that CellProfiler has a function that can help (“MeasureObjectIntensityDistribution”). So far, so good. I get a lot of numbers but I’m unable to explain what they mean.

Whilst I kind of understand that a Zernike is a shape descriptor in general, I’m stuck with what they mean in particular. For example, what does “RadialDistribution_ZernikePhase_Phalloidin_9_5” mean?

Hi @MatthieuV,

Take a look at this : http://cellprofiler-manual.s3.amazonaws.com/CellProfiler-3.0.0/modules/measurement.html#measureobjectintensitydistribution

For each module, if you highlight the module and click on the “?” button (right above the Start Test Mode button), you can see the module help and the measurements it make.

Hope this is helpful!

Hi Nasim,
Thanks! Yes, I’ve seen this and it’s overall helpful but if you don’t know what a Zernike feature is, you get a number that does not mean much. So, how different are Zernike_8-8 to 9-5? What do they mean in particular?

Hi Matthieu,

They are mathematical descriptors of shape- you can see what each of the first 21 represent in this diagram from wikipedia.

In general, the feature you asked about is the 9th row of a chart like this, the position with 5 as the superscript.

It’s hard to interpret Zernike features in an ELI5 kind of way- it’s basically just saying “some subtle aspect of the shape has changed”, but not an easy thing to say “it’s more wavy”, “more skinny”, etc.