Drawing a line automatically between 2 points

line-roi

Hey ImageJ experts,

I need a tool in ImageJ which simply connects 2 points - I determined before - to a line.
Is there something I could use?

I am a still beginner so the solution might be simple but unfortunately I have no idea to handel this with ImageJ.
Thank you! :slight_smile:

0 Likes

Good day!

Consider this ImageJ macro call:

makeLine(x1, y1, x2, y2)
Creates a new straight line selection. The origin (0,0) is assumed to be the upper left corner of the image. Coordinates are in pixels. You can create segmented line selections by specifying more than two coordinate pairs, for example makeLine(25,34,44,19,69,30,71,56) . After creating the selection, use Roi.setStrokeWidth to set the width and Roi.setStrokeColor to set the color.

Draws a line selection according to start and end coordinates.

If you need something different, then please be more specific.

Regards

Herbie

1 Like

Thank you so much for your quick answer, Herbie!

I actually don´t know how to use the “makeLine” Tool.
Before that tool I would also like to use “Roi.getCoordinates(xpoints, ypoints)”.

How can I get ImageJ to execute these commands?
(As I already wrote: I am a real beginner and not a native speaker concerning English so all these things are not that easy for me to understand… I “asked google” for an instruction but didn´t find help - I have to confess that I am not talented in IT things…)

0 Likes

Use the script editor:

2 Likes

Thank you! :slight_smile:
Unfortunately I can´t find the script editor…
File - New - … there are 5 Options but nothing with “Script”. Just “Text Window”.
If I press “[” nothing happens…

(Sorry, I feel really silly…)

0 Likes

Oh, sorry, it seems you’re using ImageJ version 1.x, while I was assuming you’re using Fiji (which includes ImageJ2), the distribution recommended in the life sciences.

1 Like

Sorry, I should have told you the version I use.