Distinguishing between two types of soil

Hi all,
I’m new in processing image. I work on soil samples to identify its composition byusing imagej. It’s a mixture of two different materials, silica and silt. These two materials have a different attenuation coefficient. I tried to use different types of thresholding to distinguish between the two materials, but it didn’t give any results.
So I am looking for a method that I can use to differentiate between my two types of soils Image soil.tif (1.6 MB) ??
Thanks in advance

ps: each stack is formed by 900 slices.

Could you share an annotated version of the image so we can see how the two soils differ in appearance? The slice you provided appears to have have low contrast and the gray-scale distribution appears to be uni-modal. It will be nearly (if not entirely) impossible to separate them using a threshold if the distribution is uni-modal.

Hi Andrew,
That’s usually the problem. It is complicated to distinguish between the two soils by thresholding because their attenuation coefficients are relatively close. However, The sand grain size distribution range between 160 and 400 µm. And de silt is less than 100 µm.
This is another slice with the legend. The black spaces represent the void. The dark grey shows the silt and the light grey ( near white) is the sand.
The second image below represents one type of soil: sand (without silt).
Thanks

If the different types of soil have similar attenuation coefficients but distinguishable grain size ranges, then perhaps you could use thresholding to separate them from voids, run Local Thickness to get estimate the grain sizes, and then segment based on that. Note that, depending on the size of your image, Local Thickness may take a while. I have used it on stacks that are about 2000x2000x200 voxels and it can take as much as a few hours.

Can you tell me please how I can use Local thikness to estimate particles size?