Distance map with several centers

Hello everyone,
I’m new to Fiji and to this forum, which has already helped me a lot, but I’m still having huge troubles to analyze my images…
Here is what I’d like to do: I’d like to analyze the localization and distribution of the green-positive cells regarding to the red-positive regions. The tissue labelling was quite challenging so I have to define the red-regions and the green-positive cells manually.
Picture1-roi.tif (1.9 MB)
I was thinking of defining a line centered to my red regions (as they have an unusual form, I cannot use the centroid point, but is it possible to calculate the equivalent of a ‘centroid line’ or ‘centroid shape’?). Then run an Euclidean distance map originating from those lines/shapes and finally measure the distance of each green-positive cells from a red center thanks to this map.
I’d also like to have a distribution of the distances between my green-positive cells to possibly evidence clustering.

Could you help me achieve that?
Thanks a lot in advance,

Louise
NB: the picture quality is very bad, sorry, I’m currenty homeworking and don’t have access to the original images…

When you convert the red regions into a binary image you can run a Skeletonization algorithm which gives you a sort of ‘centroid line’ which you can use to compute a distance map.

Here is an IJ macro showing the idea:

newImage("Untitled", "8-bit black", 100, 100, 1);
makePolygon(32,56,35,38,54,31,68,27,70,40,63,40,62,64,55,74,55,50,39,73,25,74);
setForegroundColor(255, 255, 255);
run("Fill", "slice");
run("Select None");
setOption("BlackBackground", true);

run("Skeletonize");

// below two lines are necessary because in ImageJ binary images are 0 and 255 (and not 0 and 1)
// ...and the distance map is computed on the foreground pixels
run("Multiply...", "value=255");
run("Invert");

run("Distance Map");

Hi @Louise28
Welcome to the forum.