Disappearing multi-point counters

Hi. I’m very new to ImageJ/FIJI, so getting a bit frustrated with it and my limited knowledge. I’m counting items in a very large file (1.4Gb TIFF). I have successfully applied 639 numbered counters with the multi-point tool to the items I’m looking for and saved a TIFF copy. This opens nicely in FIJI and allows me to zoom in (with +) and move around with ‘Space bar+ mouse/left click’. All well and good, but after a short time and for seemingly no reason, the numbers disappear as I click the space bar/click to move. I’ve tried a few random ideas involving overlays and ROIs, but nothing seems to get my number overlay back. So I have to close and reopen and start again, until they disappear again.
I have been careful not to press Alt, or anything other than shift to move around the image. Is there any way that I should be moving the image around that might not eliminate my numbers? Or is there a simple sequence of keys that will restore them? I like to think I’m missing something really simple and obvious here. Many thanks for any suggestions.

Hi @PaulSST,

I don’t have a solution for this multi-point roi trouble, but I can recommend you to have a look to the Cell Counter plugin.
You can have several counters, it works in 3D, you can save pointers in an xml file and reload them later.

Cheers,

Romai

OK. Thanks. I’ll have a play. I have subsequently realised a simple solution to the space bar/click issue, in that I can just use the hand tool for moving around, so perhaps my numbers may not disappear now…However it would be good to know why that was happening, as it is a much quicker way of getting around the screen. The XML file of the points sounds really useful. I’ll give it a go. Cheers.

That sounds a bit backwards to me: on several places here on the forum, it was recommended to use the (built-in) multi-point tool instead of the (poorly-maintained) Cell Counter, and also on the official documentation page, it says: