Digitizing Contour Map

Hi,
I am new to Image J.
I have an image of contour map of engine BSFC where i have x axis as RPM, Y axis as BMEP and the contours (z axis) are of BSFC. I want to convert this map into XYZ data.
How can i convert this image into XYZ (excell data) using Image J.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
thanks,
Iltesham

Hi,

I’m not sure if I understand your question. What is BSFC? Whats the format of your input data (it’s an image, a table, a csv?). And do you want make a X,Y,Z image from it or a table with entries? If you want entries, what would be one entry in a excel table row?

Cheers,
Christian

Hi
I have this image where i have X axis as engine Speed, Y axis as engine load in bar and the contours are of the fuel consumption (called BSFC).
I want to digitize this image (meaning getting back the data which was used to generate this image) to excel data.
Can we do it ?
thanks for your help

Contour plots are lossy by nature, so at best you could only approximate the original data.

AFAIK, there is nothing built in to ImageJ, nor available in additional plugins, to do what you want. You could probably hack up a script that would reverse engineer the data from this specific image, by hardcoding various numbers, etc. However, generalizing it to work with any similar contour plot—even assuming same colors, font, etc.—would take an obnoxiously long time, since you’d have to:

• Use OCR to parse the number labels of the contours.
  • Find each blue contour line and associate it with its parsed number.
  • Infer the continuation of blue lines where the labels “hid” them.
  • Ignore the black grid lines, extra red marks, and any other “noise”.
  • Interpolate all pixel values between the blue lines somehow.
  • Also use OCR to parse the axis labels.

Much, much, much easier is to keep the original data that generates plots like this, and reuse it as needed later.