Determining changes in soil core porosity with depth

Hello, I’m am new to ImageJ and this is my first forum post.

As part of a project I am trying to determine the porosity of a soil core and how it varies with depth. I have micro X-Ray CT images of soil cores. A re-slice of the raw image from one core is below.

Reslice of Core7 - for forum post.tif (892.3 KB)

I have applied the Otsu thresholding plug-in which provides a good differentiation between the air above the soil (black), the soil (white) and the soil pores (black) as shown in the image below.

Otsu threshold of Reslice of Core7 for forum post.tif (892.2 KB)

What I am trying to achieve is a calculation of the average porosity with depth below the soil surface. The reason for this is that I am studying the impact of soil crusts (which have lower porosity) upon infiltration of water into the soil profile.

As the soil surface is uneven I think that I need to flatten the soil surface in order to be able to use the analyse-measure command to calculate the porosity. Another method could be to use the colour difference between the air above the soil and the soil surface to create a line that follows the surface and then create regions of interest based on this line at regular depths below the soil surface to provide a region of interest to enable calculation of porosity.

I have not been able to work out how to achieve either of these methods and would welcome any feedback on how to do so.

Regards

Cameron from Australia

I would try to create a different segmentation with the aim to segment the soil from the air above. For example by applying a larger Gaussian Blur of lets say 10 px you blur the original image. Then you threshold that. You can clean up the smaller holes using Process > Binary > Fill holes…